The Laurie Alcock Award for Services to Hockey in the Midlands is presented in recognition of people who have made a huge contribution to hockey in the Midlands over a substantial period of time.

This is not about playing hockey but about the folk who work behind the scenes to ensure that hockey events take place, clubs thrive, leagues are run, and the numerous tasks are undertaken by committee members.

We are fortunate to have a wealth of hockey volunteers across the Midlands and this is demonstrated by the list of recipients of the Award, both this and previous years.

2020 Laurie Alcock Award Winners

This year there are 9 very worthy winners, with some great stories about what they contributed to hockey in our region.  Thank you and many congratulations to all!

Chris Ashton: Founder, player, umpire and administrator for Coalville Hockey Club since 1980, Chris has also been an active member of the MRHA Men’s League Committee since 1990.  “Chris has spent 45 years devoted to all aspects of developing hockey and ensuring that there are opportunities for others to enjoy the sport.”  Nominated by: Jeanne Freeman (Leicestershire Hockey)

Nicky Collett: “Nicky has been a member of our committee for over 30 years …. She has engaged with many changes facing our sport over the years, none more so than the recent introduction of the tiering system in school competitions….she is rightly proud that Leicester and Rutland offer (and have entries) into every tier of the schools competitions”. Nominated by: Leicestershire and Rutland Schools and Youth Hockey

Eileen Edwards: Eileen joined the League Committee in 2002 as a Divisional rep and in 2012 became the Registration and Eligibility Secretary, a role she still holds.  During this time, she has set up and administers the League website and introduced online player registration. “Her commitment has been invaluable”. Nominated by:  MRHAWL Committee

Barbara Jones: Barbara was on the first Committee of the MRHAWL League in 1988 as Umpires Secretary and she continued in that role, tirelessly arranging and improving umpiring across the League until 2020.  “She is diplomatic, hardworking and is always willing to go that extra mile to keep the wheels turning”. Nominated by:  MRHAWL Committee

Liz Metcalfe: “Liz has been a member of Kettering HC for some 30 years and it would be fitting to describe her as our unsung hero…. As a dedicated Committee member Liz has always looked at ways to improve the Club, strived to ensure a happy and friendly environment and aimed for the very best for all our members”. Nominated by: Kettering Hockey Club

Mary Moss: As well as being an active member of her own club (Stafford HC) Mary has served adult and junior hockey across Staffordshire and the Midlands for over 40 years.  She is currently a volunteer on both the Staffordshire Ladies League committee doing a “fantastic job” on the fixture schedule and on the Midlands Schools and Youth Committee.  Nominated by: Dave Willenbruch (Staffordshire HA)

Sue Myers: “Sue has been playing club hockey for over 50 year and the last 25 at least in Wolverhampton.  During that time, she’s had a hugely positive and significant impact within our Club and the wider Midlands area.… Many, many youngsters and adults have benefited from her lifelong work within hockey”. Nominated by: Ros Norden and Nirmal Singh (Wolverhampton and Tettenhall HC)

Barbara Taylor: 60 years of service to hockey includes founding and playing for Phoenix Blues LHC as well as being custodian of a 40-year archive of the club!  Barbara has also been a diligent Treasurer for Staffordshire Hockey and for the Midlands County Schoolgirls HA since 1995.  “Barbara is a well-known and respected member of the hockey community.” Nominated by: Mary Moss (Staffordshire Hockey), Jennifer Woodyard (Phoenix Blues LHC), Jeanne Freeman (Midlands Schools & Youth)

Andy Waters: Player, volunteer and driving force at Worcester Hockey Club since 1978 “We are proud to nominate a true servant to our and the wider hockey family, someone who …. with years of commitment and dedication continues to better the lives and enhance the opportunities to play hockey in this area.”  Nominated by: Worcester Hockey Club

The 2019 Laurie Alcock Award Winners are:

  • Andy Barnes
  • Barry Coe
  • Jen North
  • David Willenbruch